press releases

04/08/2011 – The Final Round of Elgin OPERA’s Fifth Annual Vocal Competition will be held at the Kimball Street Theatre located on the lower level of the new Rider Center on the campus of Elgin Academy (corner of Kimball Street and Dundee Avenue in Downtown Elgin) at 1:30 PM, on Sunday, April 10 (Division III & IV) and Sunday, April 17 (Division I & II), 2011.

This event is open to the public. Entrance fee at the door is $10. No advance sales.

Over 82 singers participated in the competition and 37 of them will be going to the Semi Finals. The competition attracted singers from the Fox Valley area, the Chicagoland area and as far away as Woodstock, Evanston, Champaign, Deerfield, Bloomington IN, Milwaukee WI, Ashland WI, Big Bend WI, Parker City IN, Munster IN, Allendale MI, and Anchorage KY.

Winners of each category will receive cash awards ranging from $100 – $500.

Division I & II will be competing on the weekend of April 16 & 17

Semi Finalists for Division I – Twinkle Little Star:

(13 years old and under)

Julia Glassman (Arlington Heights), Rachel Kim (Glenview), Je Woo Kim (Glenview), Madison Kleba (Elburn), Sophia Peterson (Elgin), Dulcy Walbridge (Elgin), Alyssa Weir (West Dundee), Gabriella Stocksdale (Elgin), Hyunjin Roh (Glenview), Andrew Marchiori (Batavia), Calista Brady (Barrington).

Semi Finalists for Division II – Teen Artist:

(14 – 18 years old)

Rana Alcheikh (Schaumburg), Anastasia Malliaras (Orland Park), Erica Bland (Hoffman Estates), Grace Canfield (Naperville), Stephanie-Lynn Sprauer (Carol Stream), Alexis Gill (Anchorage, KY), Louie Dong (Chicago).

Division III & IV will be competing on the weekend of April 9 & 10

Semi Finalists for Division III -Young Artist:

(19 – 26 years old)

Kelsey Ankerson (Chicago), Abigail Folberg (Chicago), Corey Grigg (Chicago), Sarah Heitman (Barrington), Evan Bravos (St. Charles), Brittany Loewen (Chicago), Kristin Schwecke (Milwaukee WI), Katherine Werbiansky (Chicago).

Semi Finalists for Division IV – Emerging Artist:

(27 years old and over)

Rosalind Lee (Oak Park), Saira Frank (Waukesha WI), Eunhoe Cho (Urbana), Katherine Calcamuggio (Elmwood Park), Elizabeth Buckley (Champaign), Karen Jesse (Prairie View), Duck Kim (Urbana), Katherine Dalin (Elgin), Caitlin Shirley (Oak Park), Margaret Wendt (Sycamore), Brad Whaley (Chicago).

For more information contact Elgin OPERA at 847-695-5014 or [email protected]

You can also visit us at

Media Contact:
Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
77 Riverside Drive
Elgin, IL 60120
(800) 217-5362 or (847) 695-7540

< Back to Previous Page