press releases
Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau Announces New Board Members for 2009.

04/24/2009 – The Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau (EACVB) is proud to announce the addition of two new members to their Board of Directors.

Edward Dernulc – Senior Major Gifts Officer, Alexian Brother Foundation Kevin McCloud – Sales Director, Quality Inn Hotel

Both new members are delighted and honored to have been selected to sit on the Board of Directors for the EACVB and have committed to a two-year term of service. “With the Alexian Brothers Children’s Hospital initiative underway, and our market extending into the Elgin area, it is a natural fit for me and Alexian Brothers to commit themselves to a community group such as EACVB. As focused as EACVB is to their constituencies, we at Alexian Brothers want to be committed to the Elgin area in a positive and active manner to serve those who need our services the most. It is a privilege to be part of this group which has become a pillar throughout the Elgin area.” states Edward Dernulc, Senior Major Gifts Officer for Alexian Brother Foundation.

New Board of Director member Kevin McCloud was recently awarded the 2008 Cornerstone Award by the Bureau for his exemplary work within the Bureau’s Partnership Program. The award is called the Cornerstone Award because the Bureau believes a great foundation is needed to build an excellent Bureau. “I am very honored and excited for the opportunity to serve on the board of directors for the EACVB. As an Elgin hotelier, I have experienced first hand the valuable work that the EACVB does for the communities it serves. I would like to thank the Bureau for this opportunity to give back to an organization that gives its all to support tourism in the Fox River Valley.” states Kevin McCloud, Director of Sale for the Quality Inn Elgin.

“We are honored to have Ed Dernulc and Kevin McCloud join our Board of Directors to help drive the mission and vision of the Convention & Visitors Bureau.” stated Kimberly Bless, President & CEO of the EACVB.
Rounding out the rest of the EACVB Board of Directors are: James Pratt – Senior Property Manager, Algonquin Commons

Randy Reopelle – Director, Parks & Recreations, City of Elgin

Annie Kaser – Manager, Benedict’s Eggs & More

Sean Stegall (Secretary) – Assistant City Manager, City of Elgin

Robert Gilliam – Elgin City Council, City of Elgin

Peggie Stromberg (Chair) – Executive Director, Elgin Public Museum

Scott Lager – Managing Partner, Biaggi’s

Leo Nelson – Executive Director, Elgin Area Chamber of Commerce

Eric Palm – Village Administrator, Village of Hampshire

Richard Dale – General Manager, Hampton Inn

Norm Osth (Treasurer) – Village Trustee, Village of West Dundee

Tonya Hudson – Executive Director, Downtown Neighborhood Association

The Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau serves 13 communities in Chicagoland’s Northern Fox River Valley including Bartlett, Carpentersville, East Dundee, Elgin, Gilberts, Hampshire, Huntley, Lake in the Hills, Marengo, Sleepy Hollow, South Elgin, Union, and West Dundee. Our purpose is to encourage, foster, promote and stimulate conventions and tourism in Chicagoland’s Northern Fox River Valley.

Please contact us at (847) 695-7540 or at for more information.

Media Contact:
Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
77 Riverside Drive
Elgin, IL 60120
(800) 217-5362 or (847) 695-7540

< Back to Previous Page